Humility: an essential tool for getting a mentor

Fizza Khalid
2 min readDec 17, 2019

--

Having a mentor is a blessing, especially if you find one early on in life. I can’t really target one person and say “this was my greatest mentor” as there have been several along the way and if I had to choose one, (this might sound very cliche) I would like to say that my mentor has been Allah.

How? He has taught me from adversities, hardships and from achievements alike. It is because of Him that I am where I am today: a graduate with 3.6 CGPA, a mentor for my younger cousins, a capable individual with all the basic skills and more needed to survive in this fast-paced world.

When I was 17 years old, I was having a very hard time studying pre-engineering, there was a lot of course and really difficult. I was a ball of nerves, very tense all the time and afraid to tell anyone about it that it would make me look weak. That’s how I learned that one needs to have humility in order to ask for help. I had humility but I lacked courage, and so I ended up asking God for help. He did help me succeed. He helped me take all the big decisions in life I have had to take.

Humility is of the utmost importance in order to find a mentor, one that would be willing to help you with all his/her might, but one can’t really get far with humility without the courage to ask for help. That’s what I have learned in my life.

--

--

Fizza Khalid

A new learner to writing and blogging. Looking for good reads and trying to be a better writer.