Maintaining work-life balance with an outdoor session

Fizza Khalid
3 min readJan 3, 2020

--

Amal Batch 124 at Nishan-e-Haider Park

Like every other good thing, my journey with Amal fellowship also came to an end but this time the end was very much fun. The last session with Amal fellowship was a memorable one for more than one reason. Firstly, of course, because it was an outdoor session! Secondly, because it was all about everyday leadership. Oh, don’t worry, we weren’t lectured or taught anything particularly we were just given the reigns of our fun chariot, leading it wherever we pleased and agreed upon.

Like every group plan, there was some confusion, but considering the strength of our batch, which was around 45–46, we analyzed and decided upon solutions quite effectively and without wasting much time! This is something I have never witnessed in such a massive group of people which just goes to show that all of my fellows have really come a long way. I am so proud of us right now!

Batch 124 at sea view
Batch 124 at Sea View

There were so many fun activities that day. I really enjoyed the breakfast at baithak because we girls did some fun activities and I also really enjoyed playing Mafia with the whole batch near sea view.

Baithak cafe
A fellow moderating Mafia
Maám Ayesha on her A-game up for batting

It was definitely fun being a tour guide. I learned about how to make decisions in a group of people where no one person is in charge. Explaining rules to people unwilling to play a new game was a little challenging and then trying to make them all abide by those rules even more so. It was mine and our Program manager’s idea and we really wanted people to play Mafia. I can safely say that I learned how to get everyone along to play a single game. It turned out to be rather fun and people did play along.

This session was on the importance of work-life balance I understand. It was all about being carefree every once in a while, hanging out with friends, going to fun places and doing things that make one genuinely happy. Work is important but so are extracurricular activities for personal growth, relaxation, and joy.

I have no doubt I will be able to maintain work-life balance because I have great friends and cousins. People that I love hanging out with and so, no matter how busy I am I will always make plans or indulge in plans with them. Going for a movie every once in a while or lunch is something I have always done and I will continue to do so.

--

--

Fizza Khalid

A new learner to writing and blogging. Looking for good reads and trying to be a better writer.